10 National Standards

What do you know about the 10 National Standards?

These standards are important for all healthcare facilities to implement and use in gerneral practice and for the accrediation of the facility.  All medical staff should be aware of these requirements.

The National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards were developed by the Commission to drive the implementation of safety and quality systems and improve the quality of health care in Australia. The 10 NSQHS Standards provide a nationally consistent statement about the level of care consumers can expect from health service organisations.

In September 2011, Health Ministers endorsed the NSQHS Standards and a national accreditation scheme. This has created a national safety and quality accreditation scheme for health service organisations.

The following resources should be reviewed by all BHS staff:

Standard 3 Preventing and Controlling Healthcare associated Infections

Standard 5 Patient identification and Proedure Matching

Standard 6 Clinical Handover

Standard 7 Blood and Blood Products

Standard 9 Deteriorating patient: